RepairMaps v3.2 - streamlined Wizard Screen 1

RepairMaps v3.2 has been released, and includes some significant changes to the wizard screens used to input Tracked Item data.

The changes were prompted by our desire to isolate the "core" Tracked Item attributes (those that have dependencies and implications for many other TI attributes), and facilitate editing them all on the same interface.  Those attributes--ATA, RSC, Type, Subtype, and Supersession--are complex, mainly because changing the values assigned to these attributes implicate business rules that require changes to other, related ("dependent") attributes.  Thus, editing them all on one single-purpose interface (what we're informally calling "Wizard Screen 0") makes for a more intuitive experience.

ws0_new_ti.png

Additionally, this change lightens the load of technical complexity on Wizard Screen 1, and makes that interface a little less busy.  

It's because of these dependencies that changes to these attributes have been governed by the TI Reset process--which has been the case since early versions of RepairMaps.  With the release of v3.2, however, we've refined the Reset requirement, such that only the Location and Map pin placement attributes MUST be reset--and even then, this is required only when a TI's ATA or RSC configuration is changed.

ws0_existing_ti.png

This will allow you to more easily defer some decisions on some of the finer aspects of a TI until later in the discovery/repair process.

At any point in the process of entering/editing a TI's data points, these core attribute values can be changed by clicking on the locked attributes depicted in the new TI Metadata area on any wizard screen. This will launch Wizard Screen 0, allowing you to modify those values after acknowledging the implications of the changes you intend to make.

ws_ti_meta_data.png

Additionally, Wizard Screen 0 also accommodates a new feature:  you can now change both the Initiator and/or the Reviewer of a TI that is not Finalized.  Note that the system will also indicate when one or both of the users who had been assigned a Workflow role on the TI is no longer a valid RepairMaps user (that employee left the company, or was for some other reason removed from or disabled within RepairMaps).  Upon saving the form (with new workflow participant assignments), the system will send automated email notifications to the appropriate parties to bring this change to their attention. 

change_workflow_parties.png

These changes are designed to make the TI input / Workflow process a little more smooth and intuitive.

Happy mapping!